Going with the flow


If you knew me back in the day, I was highly charged, easily stressed, and an all around bundle of nerves. I stressed over making the smallest of decisions, like what to do on a Friday night. University was a hurdle, constantly challenging me to find a little sliver of confidence in this crazy vast world. Trying to figure out who I was, where I fit in, and what to do with this beautiful gift of life.Ashley.Toga.Teacher.Photo.Session.Dowes.Lake-6-Edit Ashley.Toga.Teacher.Photo.Session.Dowes.Lake-74-Edit

I turned to yoga almost 8 years ago. I needed an outlet, something to calm my nerves and clear my mind. I was instantly hooked. Today, yoga is part of my every day. Whether I make it into class or not, I find the time to make it onto my mat and check in. Finding the time to turn off autopilot and tune into how I’m feeling. Not just on a physical level, but emotionally and mentally as well. Yoga has become a vital part of my well-being and I am so grateful to myself for having been brave enough to walk in to my first yoga class.

Ashley.Toga.Teacher.Photo.Session.Dowes.Lake-14-EditAshley.Toga.Teacher.Photo.Session.Dowes.Lake-149

And while I still get the sweats when I’m sitting in traffic and think I’m going to be late, or when my computer makes a weird noise and starts to flicker, or when I’m down to my last batch of Pumpkin Chai tea, I’ve learned to better cope with these little anxieties.
Ashley.Toga.Teacher.Photo.Session.Dowes.Lake-253

A few months ago, the tables were turned and I got myself in front of the camera for a little yoga session! Many thanks to the beautiful Janine of Intuition Photography for these great shots!

Ashley.Toga.Teacher.Photo.Session.Dowes.Lake-218-Edit Ashley.Toga.Teacher.Photo.Session.Dowes.Lake-279-EditAshley.Toga.Teacher.Photo.Session.Dowes.Lake-181-Edit

Get on your mat.

3 thoughts on “Going with the flow

  1. ….sometimes ‘happy’ comes from the simplest of things …. Sometimes it comes from standing on your head !? Love that you found your ‘happy’ – xo Dana

Leave a comment